Portable RO system

Let your knowledge and questions of water flow!

Moderators: BlackDuck, Beer-lord, LouieMacGoo, philm00x, gwcr

Beer-lord

Portable RO system

Post by Beer-lord »

I've thought about getting RO water locally and there's none close nor would it be easy to work with transporting 9 gallons of water around.
I know there are portable systems around made for RV's and campers that do about 2 gallons an hour so that is an option for those who want it but as I have no experience with this nor know what is quality and what is crap, I'm curious if anyone uses a portable system and the pros and cons of them.
PABs Brewing
Planning
Brew good beer and live a hoppy life
Fermenting

Drinking
Disfucted
Smelly Hops
(split batch) A Many Stringed Bow
Up Next
Men In Black
Gymrat
Brew Guru
Brew Guru

Re: Portable RO system

Post by Gymrat »

I bought one of these last fall
http://smile.amazon.com/gp/product/B000 ... 1_1&sr=8-1
The downsides are I have to use a pressure reducer ahead of it so it takes a little longer to fill my kettle. And in cold weather it sometimes clogs from ice and I have to tap it on my driveway a few times.
I use it with one of these to get the water to my little garage brewery.
http://smile.amazon.com/7612-50-NeverKi ... water+hose
My filter is supposed to be good for up to 200 gallons of water. So I should only need to replace it every other year.
Beer-lord

Post by Beer-lord »

Lucky for me, ice is not a problem. But, I was thinking about RO water so that I could start from scratch. I'm reluctant to spend the money because I already know what my water is and have adjusted it but wonder if I could do more. I'm likely overthinking the whole thing but it seems my water adjustments work perfect to pale ales, and my stouts are fine too but my IPA's seem to be lacking.
PABs Brewing
Planning
Fermenting

Drinking
Disfucted
Smelly Hops
Up Next
Men In Black
Dawg LB Steve
Brew Guru
Brew Guru

Post by Dawg LB Steve »