First time brewer

Take a minute to introduce yourself to the Borg and tell us what's brewing. You can ask questions here too!

Moderators: BlackDuck, Beer-lord, LouieMacGoo, philm00x, gwcr

Norman__Snorz

First time brewer

Post by Norman__Snorz »

Greetings to all!! This is my first time brewing with a Brewdemon (1 gallon fermentor). I guess this will be a silly question but here goes.....I followed the brewing directions to a T, but when I added my yeast to the mix, it all sank to the bottom. The temp was around 68 degrees when I added the yeast. It has been almost 48 hours and i see no activity and the yeast is still sitting at the bottom. Is there a concern? Should I hold out and wait to see what happens and hope for the best? Any suggestions would be welcomed.
bpgreen
Uber Brewer
Uber Brewer

Re: First time brewer

Post by bpgreen »

Welcome.

What you're probably seeing isn't yeast. The amount of yeast you add wouldn't really be noticeable on the bottom. You're probably looking at something called trub (pronounced troob). It's a waste byproduct of the fermentation process and it's a sign that even though you didn't see anything happening, you still had fermentation.
Norman__Snorz

Post by Norman__Snorz »

Thanx so much! Much like a new parent, i get excited about the smallest things lol. I will wait and see what happens and proceed as required.
berryman
Brew Guru
Brew Guru

Post by berryman »

Hello Norman, I think bpgreen gave you a good explanation. wait 2-3 weeks bottle it wait another couple weeks to carb and enjoy I know it sounds like a long time to wait but once you get a pipeline going, the wait isn't as bad.
Happy Hound Brewery

“I have not failed. I've just found 10,000 ways that won't work.”
― Thomas A. Edison
Norman__Snorz

Post by Norman__Snorz »

thanks for the advice and encouragement guys!!!! it's all a learning experience and it's great to know that i have help with my new hobby. cheers to you guys!!
John Sand
Brew Guru
Brew Guru