Back sweetening Apple cider

Talk about your mead, cider, peary or anything else that doesn't fit in the other places!

Moderators: BlackDuck, Beer-lord, LouieMacGoo, philm00x, gwcr

Pdunc

Back sweetening Apple cider

Post by Pdunc »

I will be bottling my first batch of hard cider in a little over a week. I plan on using 12 oz bottles and plan to back sweeten with stevia. Any suggestions on the amount of stevia(can use sugar equivalent) for each bottle? I would like to have the cider just slightly sweet and somewhat fizzy.
berryman
Brew Guru
Brew Guru

Re: Back sweetening Apple cider

Post by berryman »

Pdunc wrote:I will be bottling my first batch of hard cider in a little over a week. I plan on using 12 oz bottles and plan to back sweeten with stevia. Any suggestions on the amount of stevia(can use sugar equivalent) for each bottle? I would like to have the cider just slightly sweet and somewhat fizzy.
I wasn't going to respond to your question as I have no experience with stevia and think others here do. But have back sweetend a lot of wine and cider but with sugar or honey and can help somewhat on that if you want.
Happy Hound Brewery

“I have not failed. I've just found 10,000 ways that won't work.”
― Thomas A. Edison
FrozenInTime
FrozenInTime
FrozenInTime

Post by FrozenInTime »

Back sweeten with Lactose. Any other type of sugar/sweetner will kick off fermentation again unless in small amounts for carbing. Those small amounts will not back sweeten. A large amount trying to back sweetin, your creating a bottle bomb.

Saying that, you can back sweeten with honey, etc AFTER you kill all the yeast off. I have done that a few times, but again, you must kill *all* the yeast *first*. Much simpler with lactose.
Life is short, live it to it's fullest!
bpgreen
Uber Brewer
Uber Brewer

Post by bpgreen »

I think stevia is a sweetener that can be directly substituted for table sugar by volume.