Corbonation bottle help

Take a minute to introduce yourself to the Borg and tell us what's brewing. You can ask questions here too!

Moderators: BlackDuck, Beer-lord, LouieMacGoo, philm00x, gwcr

11bcollins11

Corbonation bottle help

Post by 11bcollins11 »

I have been homebrewing with BD and similar easy kits for a couple years. I made a post about growler cap suggestions - I have been carbonating my wort after fermentation in 32 and 64 oz growlers.

-Yep, growlers. Just using my judgement, they seemed sturdier than the thin plastic bottles that came with the BD starter kit... little did I know this is some kind of no-no. Weird, since all the amazon reviews I read when purchasing them read 'great for home brewing...'

So anyway, what DO you guys use for carbonating a 5 gallon wort if not using growlers? Thanks!
bpgreen
Uber Brewer
Uber Brewer

Re: Corbonation bottle help

Post by bpgreen »

When I went to 5 gallon batches, I bought a kegerator.

My bottling was kind of a journey. I started with PET bottles, then went to flippies (grolsch, fishers, etc), then finally glass bottles with a capper.
John Sand
Brew Guru
Brew Guru

Post by John Sand »

I used 12 oz bottles from craft beer. I got mine from my local beer distributor for the 5c return.
Making beer and stew for the Zombie Apocalypse.
Never mind, there it is.
BlackDuck

Post by BlackDuck »

I'm another one that used 12 oz brown beer bottles. I either kept bottles from commercial beers that I could get the labels off easily, or I just bought brand new bottles at the supply store. Eventually, I went to kegs.
ANTLER BREWING
Drinking
#93 - Gerst Amber Ale
Conditioning and Carbing

Fermenting

On Deck
berryman
Brew Guru
Brew Guru

Post by berryman »

If want to stay with bottling instead of kegs, then 12 oz pop top (non twist-off) batch primmed with a bench capper is a good way to go.
Happy Hound Brewery

“I have not failed. I've just found 10,000 ways that won't work.”
― Thomas A. Edison
HerbMeowing