Can't figure it out

Yes BrewDemon and Mr. Beer kits are pretty darn easy but sometime you need a little help from the Borg to get you on the right track. Post your questions here!

Moderators: BlackDuck, Beer-lord, LouieMacGoo, philm00x, gwcr

Poppajim

Can't figure it out

Post by Poppajim »

How long is one a beginner? I've been brewing for about one year, but feel I'm still a rookie. I put together a recipe of my own to use up some ingredients that I've had for awhile. I'm sure everything was still good, I just wanted to clean house. I am an extract brewer, BTW. The bulk of the brew was 3 lbs of Bavarian Wheat DME. I wanted to take another stab at a cherry wheat so I used up what I had and bought another 4 oz bottle. The last time I tried cherry flavoring I used 2 oz in a 2 gallon batch. This time I went for 6 oz. I know it sounds crazy, but there wasn't any cherry taste at all the first time around. I just tasted the first bottle from this......No cherry taste! What gives? A little side note. I bottled this brew on Sunday morning. Whenever I bottle I use at least one plastic bottle( from my first days with Mr Beer). That "tester" was rock hard on Tueday night. Of course I had to chill one and try it the next night. No cherry taste whatsoever. I'm going to let the rest sit through their usual time cycle. Does anyone have any thoughts?
RickBeer
Brew Guru
Brew Guru

Re: Can't figure it out

Post by RickBeer »

When did you add the cherry flavoring?
I have over 9,000 posts on "another forum", which means absolutely nothing. Mr. Beer January 2014 Brewer of the Month with all the pomp and circumstance that comes with it...

Certificate in Brewing and Distillation Technology

Sites to find beer making supplies: Adventures in Homebrewing - Mr. Beer - MoreBeer
My Beer - click to reveal
Currently using 6 LBKs.

Beers I regularly brew:
Bell's Best Brown clone
Irish Hills Red - I call this "Ann Arbor Red"
Mackinac Island Red - I call this "Michigan Red"