2 brewdemon bottles flat

Yes BrewDemon and Mr. Beer kits are pretty darn easy but sometime you need a little help from the Borg to get you on the right track. Post your questions here!

Moderators: BlackDuck, Beer-lord, LouieMacGoo, philm00x, gwcr

rogermccune

2 brewdemon bottles flat

Post by rogermccune »

Finished my Pilsner that came with the kit. 6 bottles turned out great. One was totally flat and another was barely drinkable. Followed instructions to the letter and let the bottles sit 8 days consistently at 70 degrees before I put them in the fridge. Since I am new to this, I was wondering if I should have let them carbonate longer or if I have a cap issue or just how common this is. Thanks.
Beer-lord

Re: 2 brewdemon bottles flat

Post by Beer-lord »

It could be a few things but in reality, 2 weeks is the minimum, not just for carbing but for clearing. Many let them go a week or two longer.
Since many people don't have the patience and want their beer ASAP, the companies want you to believe 8 days is enough. That's simply not. However, the amount the sugar as well as the bottle size could also make a difference. And then there's the caps. Were they on tight?
I would take the rest out the refrigerator, let them sit another 10-14 days and try one again putting it in the fridge 24 or more hours before you want to try it.
To me, patience is the hardest part of this hobby.
PABs Brewing
Planning
Brew good beer and live a hoppy life
Fermenting

Drinking
Disfucted
Smelly Hops
(split batch) A Many Stringed Bow
Up Next
Men In Black
RickBeer
Brew Guru
Brew Guru

Post by RickBeer »

Assuming you did put in sugar or sugar tablets in the bottles, and at the proper amount, then the following will be helpful:

4 weeks (not 8 days) at 70 or higher to properly carbonate and condition.

3 weeks fermentation, with temps ideally at 65 (wort temp, not air temp) - this has no impact on carbonation, just better quality product.